The Pitfalls of Being A Black Atheist

You see a lot of shit that other people don’t.

Black Christians may be fine with Jehovah’s Witnesses driving up in this “community” dropping off their propaganda bullshit in our Little Library, but I’m not. I’ll take those booklets out of there every time I see them. Not only is it hypocritical, but it’s ass-backwards when it’s sitting next to books about the universe and dinosaurs. It’s problematic enough that there are enough black Jehovah’s Witnesses indoctrinating young minds, I’ll be damned if I allow someone to drive up in here from the suburbs only to drop those booklets off and leave is going to, too. If all you have to offer to these kids in tougher times is religion, just stay home and pray, it has the same effect. From the looks of things, religion hasn’t worked well for any of these kids.

the watchtower

Answer: Hell to the fucking No!

Other Christians, especially black ones assume you’re Christian

I hate this with a passion! I know, I know it happens to everyone, but I’m not stupid. It’s much more obvious in the black “community”. It’s much more in your face, too. You could be standing, minding your own business and look up, you’re in a prayer circle for no damn reason.

“Which church you go to?” “Here’s a pamphlet for what’s going on at church this weekend.” “Do you have a church home?” “Why ain’t you in church, chile!” “Should baptize your daughter before she gets too old.” “Did your Christen your son?” “Here’s a bible. I have so many of these at home!” “Which scripture is your favorite?” “Circumcise that boy!” “Make sure when you marry it’s in a church! You have to be good with god, ya know!”

After a while, it all sounds like they all got their notes from each other. They all sound the same. They all sound cherry-picked.

When they find out you’re not a Christian, they ostracize you – in most cases, at least try – from the “community”.

All you have to say is you don’t so much as pray and they’ll look at you differently. Start explaining why and watch the bullshit before you unfold.

Add any more labels alongside “atheist” and you’ll start having to keep down vomit every time you hear, “now, you’re just doing this shit for attention”.

Especially if you’re anything other than straight, then don’t be a woman on top of that. It’s like the shit you already have stacked against you just tripled.

Some would say, “You wouldn’t have all these problems if you didn’t make yourself a target by having labels you know would make you a target.” Well, no one told them they had to believe that nonsense either, but I’m supposed to hide behind a figment of who I am because of apologists? Because of victim blamers? Because you cannot handle being an adult?

I’m not being black for attention. I’m not being a woman for attention. I’m not being bisexual for attention, nor am I confused. I’m not being an atheist for attention. I’m being Lee and Lee isn’t the one with the problem here. I’m being told that I am the problem. Everything about who I am is a problem for other people when it shouldn’t be.

Other hoteps assume you’re ‘Hotep’ because you’re an atheist or have atheistic ideals.

A lot of “hoteps” aren’t religious, they think god is a black ‘wombman’. Don’t get me to translate it. I don’t know what it is. They like to think they have third eyes. See the contradiction? They replaced one religion for another, but at the same time, have a lot of atheistic ideals so they join black atheist pages or ‘Real Black Atheist’ pages. Emphasis on ‘real’ because that means a lot to them.

They have certain beliefs and ideals on what an actual atheist is. It’s ridiculous. They’re just as bad as churchgoers because they push that shit onto others. I don’t want to be your “Qween”. I want to be Lee. Also, let’s get this out of the way: You hoteps should seriously stop getting hung up on Africa. Most of you never been there, don’t know much about the place outside of Egypt and West Africa and even then, you’re 95% of the time wrong.

Furthermore, stop cultural appropriating a people who haven’t raised a finger in all of our time being here in America to help us or defend us. Miss me with that, “they got their own problems” bullshit. That right there tells me you should just be quiet. Go sit down and finish Hidden Colors, 1,2,3, and 4 that you only watched five minutes of.

You’re subjected to a lot of Christian fuckery on a daily basis.

brainwashed

Christian fuckery can come in all shapes and forms because it takes many shapes and forms just as fast as you can say, “I give it all to Jesus!”. Usually, it’s unavoidable because it’s unpredictable. You could be sitting at a bus stop, minding your own business and a wild Christian appears and uses absolve.

“Oh, thank you, Jesus! God is good! How are you today, Lee? I bullshit you not, she says that to me every time. It never fails. “I’m fine, just waiting on the bus.” She gives me a side glance and a once over at the same time. This woman is magical. “Well, you look like you need a hug. God is always by your side. I know how you feel about Jesus, but I pray for you every night.” You know how you sometimes catch yourself before you think you may say something you think you may regret later, you’re not all the way sure, but at the same time, you only care enough to not say anything because you have to socialize with this person almost every day? Yea, that was me. I wanted to say, “Whatever you’re praying for, it’s making shit worse, if it’s working at all. Please stop.” but, all I could muster through gritted teeth was a thank you.

It didn’t stop there.

“Well, girl one of our new neighbors are so nasty. I went over there to help them and whew, god it was BAD! I had to pray about it when I got home. Even the children were nasty, but I prayed about it. I even did a little hail mary as I got in the shower! Oh lord, let me stop talking about them. I’m better than that. Sorry, Jesus.” At this point, I wasn’t sure if she was talking to me or Jesus.

It’s just weird seeing them absolve themselves of judgment by bringing up Jesus. She repents on the go! It’s like some of them only help people just to judge them, to make them feel better about themselves. Then they justify it with Jesus. Jesus is the scapegoat that they can use to absolve them of any consequence.

You’re the reason as to why everything is about race. [See: Name of page]

Oh really? So I created white supremacy? I plundered the world and left terror and destruction in its wake everywhere I went? I murdered and almost wiped out an entire race just because I wanted what they had? I created segregation? Really? No, I am the reaction of those actions caused by white supremacy. Also, white power is not a culture. Never will be one.

Oh, and shit like this:

itsthebesttheycando

I was born black. You were taught religion

I just called his beliefs bullshit, but all I get is racist rhetoric from the 60’s. Never mind that I questioned his religion. Never mind that it is bullshit. Nope, he saw the word ‘Black’ and that’s all that mattered.

Christians, you have a lot of village idiots running around. Is that by design? So do atheists, but this post isn’t about them. I’m black, first. That’s a fact that’s very obvious in my everyday life. That’s the first thing people will ever see and that’s not even my fault. White supremacy made it that way.

You’ll have those that’ll say, “Well, why stoop down to their level?” Have you been asleep throughout history? Black people sat at counters, minding their own business when they were being bullied out of restaurants by racists. Black people have been minding their own business for quite some time, trying to stay peaceful. Trying to do what other people say, “ignore it and leave it alone”. Well, it isn’t leaving us alone. I refuse to be complacent in the face of any kind of racism. Fuck your arbitrary ass levels you set. Y.O.U. They don’t apply to me.

It’s like someone pissing on me and getting mad that I’m getting mad at them for pissing on me.

You sound fucking stupid.

Shut up.

2 comments

  1. I like the part about the Hotep’s as you call them.
    yeah its tough being black atheist female or male etc etc
    sometimes I think everyone else has it better than me but the the thing that makes me a atheist kicks in and maybe I know better a little bit.

    Like

Leave a Reply

