eggs

I’m Not Morally Equipped to Make White People Comfortable

I’ve opened and have welcomed all types of atheists and secularists on the Black Atheists Facebook page and this blog, but let me be crystal clear: This page is dedicated to black people. This is a safe place for everyone, but I need to be for my people. Just because I let you in and build friendships with you all doesn’t mean I’m going to kiss anyone’s ass. I’m not. I’m not sorry.

With that being said: I post a lot of controversial content and I speak my mind because:

nbc

The world spends a lot of time caring about what white people think. Sorry, I can’t, and I won’t. If their feelings matter then so do ours.

That goes as far as pointing out racism, discussing white feminism and how it’s only for white people, the issue with white people thinking being pro-black is anti-white, noting that the world doesn’t revolve around them; I also kindly remind them about cultural appropriation, too. Nothing is off limits when I can’t take my son to his preschool without being racially profiled. I can’t walk into a Walgreens parking lot without a white woman clasping her purse and holding onto her child while making sure her car is locked when she sees me.

 

So, since I inadvertently make them uncomfortable with my blackness I mind as well give them a reason. So when I post black issues, I do it i knowwithout any remorse. Black issues can’t be argued since it’s 2015 and we’re far more likely to be killed by a white terrorist now than we did when my 80-year-old grandmother was a child. I’m not mincing my words, and I won’t pander. Facts are facts and if white people can’t handle that, tell me something that’s new.

The issue I have when white people throw tantrums in the face of facts is this: They don’t have to live with the stigmas that society portrayed on them because they’re laughable. They can throw their stats and numbers back at us, about us, but they can’t seem to do the same thing to themselves. The finger is always pointed at us. So when we have to do the finger pointing they see it as a threat and maybe even as a challenge. That’s fine, but facts don’t stop being facts because they’re mad.

So don’t expect me to feel bad for white people any time soon. Their problems are definitely, in every sense of the word, “first-world”.

