The Things People Have Asked and Said to Me On Black Atheists | Facebook

“Why do the memes have white people in them if this is a black atheist page?”

Same reason there’s peanut butter in your cabinet even though it was made by a black man. Also, you’re stupid and you should feel bad.

“Why do you have to post so many things about black people?”

Damned if I do, damned if I don’t. That’s all I’m going to say to that.

“I don’t see color, I’m blind to it. Everything isn’t always about race.”

If that’s how you feel and believe in your heart of hearts, fine. All I can say to that is you should reconsider and educate yourself because saying that is pretty fucked up.

“Can I join this page even though I’m not black?”

Can you read? Did you bother seeing if that question could be answered before contacting the page? No? Damn. What did you learn? Also, there’s nothing to join. You like the page and you can take part if you want or lurk like most people do if you want. If I wanted seclusion of other races, I would have made a group and become like the other secluded atheist pages for black people. I can’t get the message out if I don’t have allies on all fronts. Come on!

“You just hate yourself and you hate white people.”

If you would have said that to my face, I would have most likely punched you in the mouth. You don’t know me and you’re talking through your feelings. There’s no reason whatsoever to think that bullshit when you visit Black Atheists. Stop it.

“Can I see what you look like?”

Yes. When I’m ready, I’ll eventually show myself. I usually do once every few months.

“Can you make shirts and mugs and stickers?”

I did. No one was interested after I put in all that work.

“Why does this page come with so much drama?”

Are you awake? I have to ask because anyone that’s awake wouldn’t ask that question. Do you see the name of the Facebook page? It’s self-explanatory.

“Why are there a lot more white people on here than black people?”

Why do you wear pyjamas to bed when you can sleep naked? Is my response.

“I want to be your token white friend.”

Are you – excuse my French – are you fucking kidding me? You have to be. You just gotta be.

“This is nothing but a hate page”

And people lash out at things they don’t understand.

“Why do you let white people on here? Why can’t they just get their own shit!?”

You don’t have to stay, you can leave. Make your own goddamn page and then meticulously boot people who don’t fit your melanin scale out of it. Problem solved. Hope it doesn’t get big because when will you find the time?!

“You should seriously stop posting stuff like this, it’s offensive. We get it, you’re black.”

There’s something I get, you’re whack. It’s my page, I do what the fuck I want on it. There are multiple ways in giving feedback and guess what? That isn’t one of them.

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

