‘I Luh God’ | Black Embarrassment Television

I unfortunately, ran across something I wish I hadn’t. I guess that’s the price I pay for using social media. What I saw made me lose all hope for the religious black community. A song called ‘I Luh God’ by a “gospel” singer named Erica Campbell.

This is what Erica Campbell had to say:

Everyone doesn’t speak properly. Everyone doesn’t live in a well-maintained manicured neighborhood. People live in rough neighborhoods and they speak how they speak. No matter where you are, you have to acknowledge that you’re blessed. Everybody don’t like it. Some people are upset about it, but they’ll be all right. God don’t live in a box. Why should I?

Because – lazy ass – you’re supposed to be above that. You’re supposed to do – and be the opposite of what society expects. Jesus fucking Christ you religious people are something else. Not only are you religious while black, you’re proving a stereotype a lot of black people are trying to get rid of.

I read somewhere that someone called her the Beyoncé of gospel music. Just to add insult to injury…read this:

In response to the criticism, Erica Campbell told the The Tom Joyner Morning Show that the song was made in the trap/hood style to appeal to people in lower-income neighbourhoods, like the one she grew up in.

If I slam my head on my desk any harder, I’d be just as dense as her.

I get it, black people are simple creatures when it come to music, but don’t insult us. I ‘luh‘ god? Are you serious? I don’t know what’s more embarrassing: The blatant and very much intended spelling error, the trap house music style to the song, the entire song itself, or the people who’s eating this shit up.

These kinds of people have no shame because the dollar amount takes care of that. Maybe I should go into religious work. It seems that’s where the money is. My morally sound conscience can’t lie to people and use them for monetary gain though, so there’s that.

But what the fuck!? Really?

The song is on youtube, but the video isn’t, which is why I haven’t posted a video of it here. But here’s a link to the video because you can’t just listen to the song, you have to see the full effect of that nonsense in all its glory. Let me know how it ended, 1:40 in and I was through.

I never understood how the religious could say that’s the devil’s music and then turn around and use the same type of music to put in gospel lyrics and says it’s for Christ.Yea, I guess that makes it okay. 

Get the fuck out of here.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

