I Didn’t Think I Would Need to Make a Blog Post About This…

When something bad happens to someone – when it comes to ‘Black Atheists’ on Facebook I’m immediately blamed. Why? Because people think this group: facebook.com/groups/blackatheists belongs to me. It doesn’t. Instead of actually putting forth the five-seconds it would have taken to find out who the owner of the group was, people immediately come to me. I’ve gotten hate-mail and death threats due to what goes on over at that group. They complain to me about how the page is full of racists and kick anyone out that isn’t black or harass the people who aren’t black in to leaving. That’s tragic and I’m sorry that it happened, but it has NOTHING to do with me! I had JUST LEFT that page not too long ago because I disagreed with a lot of what was going on there. I barely posted or even participated in any of the posts in that group. Why would I?

If you haven’t noticed, the style of that group is totally different from my blog(s), page, and group. I use the same font in all of my cover page pictures and I introduce myself every 3-4 months on both the group and the page. I even have it in the description on both the group and the page that I’m not affiliated with that group. I’ve gone out of my way to make that known and yet…I’m doomed to having to make this:

BAISNOTAFFILIATED

I shouldn’t have to do shit like this if people would just READ!

3 comments

  1. I know it’s been a year since you made this post, but around that time – only months earlier – I left that Facebook group in disgust because of one of its members accusing me of something that I am not. Although the fight was short, it has gotten so bad to the point where I left two weeks later on June 5, 2014 at 6:30am EST. I want nothing to do with them and I am free from their nonsense. I even had to write a blog entry about that in my old blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

