prolife

Being Atheist and Pro-life Are Two Different Things

First, let me just say, I’m pro-choice. Okay, now that we’ve gotten that out of the way. Moving on…

For some reason, in the atheist community pro-life activists who are atheists have seem to have blurred lines. The ones that are blurring them are atheists who are pro-choice. I don’t think they understand the difference between the two. The uphold two different kinds of backgrounds.

Atheist is the disbelief in God. Nothing more. Atheist can be pro-life just as much as they can be for or against gay rights. -Ray P.

We have atheists bashing other atheists because their views aren’t like theirs. They’re calling them religious zealots not realizing that they’re starting to look like religious zealots.

The only thing interesting about this post is that it shows there are some atheists who aren’t very bright, and have less respect for the rights of the living and the breathing than those who aren’t. -Dave U

Yes, atheists who are pro-life seems like an oxymoron. Yes, they’re on a slippery slope. My question is, what does not believing in a deity have anything to do with being pro-life or pro-choice?

Source: prolifehumanists.org

Source: prolifehumanists.org

Confessions of a Pro-Life Atheist: Why I Fight Abortion

Pro-choice and pro-life isn’t a religious thing so why is it that atheists are calling pro-life atheists “lost and confused agnostics”? Why are they being treated like Christians? I can understand where they’re coming from to an extent, but I’m just not understanding the hatred and the bashing.

Atheists Against Abortion | Facebook

I was told today that because I am pro-life I do not support a woman’s right to choose and am therefore not an atheist. 

Apparently stupidity is not relegated to the religiosity alone. 

My belief in no God(s) makes me an atheist. My stance on abortion makes me a human with an opinion. I am against abortion for 2 simple reasons. 

1) I abhor waste. 
2) I abhor the abrogation of personal responsibility.John F.

There are racist atheists, anti-gay atheists, republican atheists, conservative atheists, stupid atheists – and I’ve ran across them all. So you mean to tell me that pro-lifers can’t be atheists? Well I’m here to say that yes they can. Why? Because they have shit to do with each other! If atheists can be bigoted, anti-gay, and pro-choice, they can be pro-life too.
Being pro-life is not about being Christian, being pro-life is about being human. I agree with the British Medical Association, and many others, who consider implantation as the beginning of a pregnancy, and therefore of a human life. I’m a Humanist, and in my opinion the right to life is the most basic human right. It is a conclusion everybody should be able to reach, regardless of their religion or absence of it. -Frank L.
People from the Black Atheists facebook page is going to read this and may unlike the page. Oh well. More power to you. Bringing up this issue doesn’t make me any less of an atheist. I happen to be pro-choice. I just question things that doesn’t make sense to me. This blurring lines together just doesn’t compute in my head. Some would argue, “well, what does being pro-gay rights have anything to do with atheism?” My response would be absolutely nothing. It’s a human choice to be pro or anti. Not believing in a god doesn’t have anything to do with it. Otherwise there wouldn’t be pro-gay rights Christians and Muslims.
If I support gay rights and i’m pro-life, that would be my choice. That wouldn’t make me less of a believer in God. Maybe I believe that life is sacred and it is better to live than not to have lived at all. Maybe I don’t care who you are screwing in your bedroom while other atheist believe that same-sex relationships is ruining our society. That wouldn’t make me or them any less of an atheist. -Ray J. (From Black Atheists)
I’m not sure what kind of back-lash this kind of blog post is going to bring. I feel like me being atheist and pro-choice having these kinds of questions would leave me feeling like the only one; the lonely one. That’s fine. I’m okay with that. I just hope I get people from both sides of the fence and not people screaming at me in ALL CAPS that I’m no better than the pro-lifers. That argument in itself is no better than a christian with no facts screaming that god is good all the time, and all the time god is good.
Enhanced by Zemanta
One comment

  1. I am atheist and anti-abortion. I think those atheists that feel no compassion for the murder of a fetus and thinking it is okay stems from remnants of religious indoctrination. Remember in the Bible, ‘god’ kills and slaughters babies wantonly. He is the ultimate abort-er.

    Like

Leave a Reply

