I Didn’t Ask You Christians to “Pray” for Me, So Why Bother?

I’ve always wondered why Christians felt that telling me that they were going to pray for me will make me feel any less different about me being an Atheist before they said it. I just need to know do they make a memo or have a little sticky note stuck on their headboard with a list of things people to pray for? Who the hell remembers to pray for an Atheist? I can’t speak for all Atheists when I say this but, I don’t need you Christians praying for me, I’m not brainwashed, I’m not senile, I’m a human being just like you.

The pastor that was blowing my phone up earlier this month showed up at my apartment door last week and he wanted to talk to me about repenting. All I could think of at that moment is that there are people that believe and I’m positive that they need him more than I do. In these trying times it was so hard not to take that thick ass book of lies and smack him with it. He was determined to get me back in the church but I wasn’t having it. I listened to what he had to say but I kindly told him if he don’t leave me alone and stop calling me and showing up uninvited I’ll have to press charges for harassment. I seriously thought Jehovah’s Witnesses was persistent but I guess I was wrong. Well when he finally got ready to leave, he made sure to tell me that he would pray for me. What am I supposed to say to that? Thank You Mr. Jackass?

Am I supposed to feel special that you spent your time praying for me? What am I supposed to say to someone when they say they will pray for me when they know what they know? Basically, why do you Christians give a flying fuck? What do you get out of praying for an Atheist? A blessing? Good Karma? A ticket to the Oprah Show? What?!?! I know some of you persistent assholes need a swift kick in the ass. Gosh I never been so annoyed with Christians. Sometimes I wish I could turn back the hands of time and make it where I never told anyone I was an Atheist.

Leave a Reply

