‘Black Atheists’ is Considered Segregation: O’RLY?!

blackathesits

I am the owner of this blog and it’s been 3 years since I started it, and when starting a blog like this brings along a lot of attention. It’s nothing that I cannot handle but there’s one thing that I must address. I am not segregating my race. I’ve been asked: “Why are you segregating a race and atheism?” 3 or so times on the Facebook page and once on here and it’s quite interesting. I have addressed this question before but it’s not doing any justice if it’s being drowned by the many posts on the Facebook page.

No way am I being racists or dividing atheism. Those who’ve asked this should try to understand what I mean by Black Atheists. Black Atheists means that there are not that many of us; if it is, they’re not coming out about it. It’s so rare to find another Black atheist that some people feel alone; I know I did. Even though as a whole, atheists are minority, it’s even more so clear among the African American community.

Being a Christian in a Black family of Baptists may not be any more different from a white family but I believe that Blacks have more to lose. I’ve lost friends to coming out about their atheism. They came out to their family, their family went to church and told the congregation, the congregation then told everyone else, and then that person end up being killed, banished, or they could no longer associate themselves with me.

My brother came out to our family about his atheism and they gasped in terror and then told him that he needs to read the bible more. Told him, that if he doesn’t change his mind, that he’ll be doomed to a life of anguish and misfortunes. My brother has since then contemplated suicide, and alienated himself from the few friends he had. They didn’t understand, either. Black Atheists means that those who are able to, those who are strong enough to be, to accept themselves who they are, will know that they are not alone. There are more of us than first realized. Every so often I come across someone saying, “I thought I was the only one, I’ve felt so alone and none of my friends of family understand! They just tell me to go read the bible”. Black Atheists is around for that reason.

This page may say Black Atheists, but I’m not discriminatory towards anyone who wants to join or take part. This blog, the Facebook page exists to help those who need empowerment. To see it as anything other than that just tells me how small-minded a person can be.

We’ll never get past segregating one another if this continues!

All I have to say is it’s been here for a long time and as long as there are humans on this earth, history books in the schools, or someone who only see things in black and white, there will be segregation.

Let’s just put it this way, BET (Black Entertainment Television), NAACP (National Association for the Advancement of Colored People), TheRoot.com, and the like; why do you think they exist? Just think about it and when you come up with an answer, leave a comment.

12 thoughts on “‘Black Atheists’ is Considered Segregation: O’RLY?!

  1. Also being an atheist is NOT A RELIGION. It’s a civil rights movement, therefore tied to, and I believe central to, the greater civil rights movements of this century.
    Religion is a tool of the rich to control the world’s poor. The majority demographic of the world’s poor is non-white women, so obviously the right to freedom from religion is tied to anti-oppression and feminism as well. If people think a Black Atheists group is ‘dividing the movement’, it’s because they’re thinking about atheism as a religion.

  2. I’m a honky and I find this site wonderful and refreshing. The need to point out ‘black’ is evident- there’s power in letting those who believe in invisible men KNOW that atheism is not race based. In this context the best way to do so is by showing- black, atheist and proud. Not to mention I love your posts. :)

  3. Pingback: Laughing with the atheists | A Little Local Color

  4. Pingback: The End Game: Taking the Bet of Pascal « The Age of Blasphemy

  5. i’m heartened to see your page. black people in the u.s. who come out as atheists have much to lose (family, community, relationships), and their isn’t much of a support system for them. i think you’re doing a huge service for your brothers and sisters who feel all alone.

  6. Pingback: Why Atheists Are More Intelligent Than the Religious « The Age of Blasphemy

  7. I understand the desire to write an article such as this. But there really was no need (unless you wanted to get this off you chest). Blacks do not have to apologize to anyone outside of our ethnicity and group for acting on our best interest. The reactionary mode to white questions and threats has caused more harm than good in the Black community. As Black freethinkers, what should distinguish us from our religiously-controlled and manipulated family and friends; and the general Afrikan Amerikkkan community, is our ability to make rational and cogent decisions based on fact and reality. White atheists are a part of the larger white society and bask in the so-called priveledge that comes with that package. If we regurgitate white atheist views and ideas like parrots- when we have plenty of humanistic thoughts from our african traditions and culture- then we give them the ammunition to dictate to us how and what manner we should define ourselves….and what is with the brother contemplating suicide just because he was chastised by family member? He needs tough skin…hate to put it blunt but, there is no room for ‘sissies’ in this game.

    • I posted this due to all of the questions people were asking about the name. I simply got tired of repeating myself; here, and on the Facebook page.

  8. Pingback: Christian Guest Calls Rape Victim “Evil,” Gets Reamed Out by Atheist Host « The Age of Blasphemy

  9. Well said, OP. I used to work with street kids in Chicago’s Boys Town. There were always a lot of kids struggling with their sexual identity, but it seemed that the black teenagers consistently had so much more social pressure from their homes and communities than the white ones did. As I think there are a lot of similarities between coming out as an atheist and coming out as a homosexual (not directly equitable, but similar processes and stigmas), I think what you’re doing makes absolute sense. People just want to know that there are others like them that understand what they’re going through.

  10. People who feel curiosity or outrage in relation to social classes have never experienced any class-related problem. They just don’t know/believe classes exist in this day and age.

Leave a Reply

